Parts of the former leper hospital

Parts of the former leper hospital

From 1883 onwards, rampant property speculation saw the gradual demolition of the 15th-century leper hospital (‘Lazzaretto’). Only a small portion of the cells that constituted its perimeter has survived on Via San Gregorio, and today this is the site of the Russian Orthodox church. Constructed between 1488 and 1509 at the behest of Lazzaro Cairati, a notary at the General Hospital, its design was of a type that could be traced back to Filarete: a large, porticoed enclosure with sides measuring 380 metres, with the church of San Carlo (today visible in Largo Bellintani) in the centre. It housed a total of 288 rooms.

Via San Gregorio, Milano

    This point of interest is in the following itineraries

  • Around Casa Boschi Di Stefano

    Walk the famous Corso Buenos Aires

    2


    hrs

    2


    km

Network

Case Museo Milano

STORIE MILANESI

Storie Milanesi is a website to discover Milan through the lives of 15 of its most esteemed citizens: their house museums, artists studios, architectural firms and designs.STORIEMILANESI.ORG
Segreteria Organizzativa c/o Fondazione Artistica Poldi Pezzoli “Onlus” Ente Capofila Via A. Manzoni, 12 - 20121 Milano - c.f. 80068270158 - p.iva 04265690158

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This