Archiepiscopal Seminary

Archiepiscopal Seminary

“Humilitas”: the motto of the Borromeo family greets visitors entering the seminary through the monumental, 17th-century portal designed by the architect Francesco Maria Ricchino. Founded in 1565 by Archbishop Charles Borromeo, the college occupies the site of the suppressed Humiliati monastery of San Giovanni. Originally overseen by Vincenzo Seregni, the project was taken over by Pellegrino Tibaldi in 1577. The large, square courtyard was constructed between 1602 and 1610 by the architects Aurelio Trezzi and Fabio Mangone, and features a two-storey loggia supported by double columns.

Corso Venezia, 11, Milano

Network

Case Museo Milano

STORIE MILANESI

Storie Milanesi is a website to discover Milan through the lives of 15 of its most esteemed citizens: their house museums, artists studios, architectural firms and designs. STORIEMILANESI.ORG
Segreteria Organizzativa c/o Fondazione Artistica Poldi Pezzoli “Onlus” Ente Capofila Via A. Manzoni, 12 - 20121 Milano - c.f. 80068270158 - p.iva 04265690158

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This